Island Beneath the Sea

A Five Star Pick

Can any book take me back to Haiti when it was only known as Saint Domingue and where tropical, magical breezes are felt on my skin as I read this novel about one particular female slave named Zarité?  I could probably read a whole bunch of stories on slavery in Haiti but not feel as fulfilled as I do when I become attached to Isabel Allende’s characters and wish the best for all involved.  I am in love with historical fiction because of the fact that it takes place in any time but the present.  I love the way people spoke and dressed in the 1800’s—but slavery is not one of the things I agree with.  This book was worthy of my five stars because there was that mixture of history, romance, personal struggles, superstitions and magical realism.  I loved it from beginning to end, even though the ending was not as positive as I had imagined.  The author’s writing just flows and the language is almost poetic.  This is one novel you should take the time to read because it will not even take that much time to finish!

This entry was posted in Five Star Picks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

