Memoirs of a Geisha

Book vs. Movie

  

Ok.  So I read this one years ago, but it still stayed with me and I loved it.  When I heard the movie was coming out, I was so excited about it.  The movie itself has already been out for six years now, but both are still memorable.  Although the movie does end differently from the book, it was nice to see.   The costumes of the geishas were depicted beautifully on screen and it was fun to watch the characters come to life.  I think the novel was true to a more “real-life” type of ending, while the Hollywood version made it like a fairytale.  Even though I am a fan of stories that end positively, I was a little disappointed that the ending of the movie didn’t stay true to the book.  I have to admit, however, that I was happy for Chiyo in the movie version!  I am a sucker for couples who are “meant to be”.

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memoirs of a Geisha

  1. Melissa says:

    Anyone excited about Lisa See’s book “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” hitting theaters this Friday? It should be interesting to see what is added and what is taken out. I’m going to see this one for sure!

  2. Melissa says:

    Apparently, the movie has not yet been released. I checked on the Internet Movie Database and it looks like it was realesed on July 15, but only in limited areas and selected theaters in the country. I’m kinda disappointed about that since I have been looking forward to it! Hopefully this will change soon.

  3. Melissa says:

    Well, I looked into the “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” movie and it has now been playing in Montreal (for 2 weeks apparently!)—but only at the AMC downtown, Montreal. This is not really convenient for me, since I don’t go downtown much 😦 Plus, it is quite expensive to view movies there! Has anyone seen it? Did you like the differences? I watched an interview with Lisa See about the movie and she says that there is a modern day twist added to the movie. How did you like that aspect?

  4. Melissa says:

    I’ll probably write about it after I see it on DVD.

Leave a Reply

