The Help

Book vs. Movie

   

One of my favorite books (once again) has come out on big screen.  Very well done.  I was hoping things would stay true to the novel in the movie, and for the most part it does—with a few exceptions.  The characters are very well developed for the movie version, and I just adored Celia Foote!  What a performance  🙂  Of course, there is a whole lot more in the book than the film, but I have to give them credit for showing the most important and funny moments from the story.  Noticeable differences: the “awful terrible” that Minny commits happens well in the beginning of the movie, whereas in the book, we only find out about the deed at the end; both Hilly and Skeeter’s mothers are supposed to be quite stern and prejudiced, but in the movie, they become likeable characters.  Also, the outcome of Skeeter’s mom’s health is not the same.  Can I just say that Johnny is unarguably a hottie in the film, that it is no wonder Hilly is sour towards Celia!  I loved the movie and would probably see it again … at this point I should probably buy the book too.

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Help

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just all new to blogs and really savored you’re blog site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really have good well written articles. Thank you for revealing your blog.

    • Melissa says:

      It is really cool to hear from people I don’t even know! I feel so supported and loved for my work 🙂 Thanks so much—it really gives me an idea of how I’m doing! Keep following and enjoying my posts.

Leave a Reply

