The Rule of Four

HisLit

The Rule of FourMy first HisLit suggestion is a book written by Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason.  I know this is not a recent novel, but it is worth reading.  It helps when you have other titles to read while you may be waiting for the hottest book that’s out there in the library.  Of course, many people could just go out and buy the newest title, but that could cost a bit (especially since it usually comes out in hard cover first).  Even purchasing it as an E-book can take some of your dollars.  Save money by borrowing from the library.  Our library actually has access to E-books as well, so there is no charge if you are a member.  There are so many good novels that you can get for free!  This story will appeal to those who either read or saw The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.  The novel involves codes and ciphers to figure out a secret that is hidden in an ancient text.  Two friends who are college students in New Jersey put their heads together and realize what danger they could be in when this strange manuscript falls into their hands.  They need to determine if they are willing to risk everything when they come upon a diary that may be able to solve the complex enigma.  It is fast paced, keeps you guessing till the end, and leaves you reflecting on whether the plot could be plausible or not.  I got immersed in the pages and I’m not really one to follow code stuff easily, so the male brain will probably comprehend it more.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you did happen to read The Rule of Four, here are three titles that may appeal to you.  These suggestions do not come personally from me (as I did not read them) but I use my trusty tool called Novelist, which usually gives great recommendations.
The School of Night by Louis Bayard
Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Ex-Libris by Ross King

HisLit author read-alikes:
Besides Dan Brown, if you liked Caldwell’s theme and/or style of writing, you may want to explore the following authors:
-David Baldacci (He’s good if you like fast-paced, well-written suspense stories featuring plot twists and rich historical details.  Start with Last Man Standing.)
-Arturo Perez-Reverte (He writes richly-detailed suspense stories featuring a blend of the past and present. They feature literary mysteries with clues contained in manuscripts and rare books.  Start with The Flanders Panel.)
-Bret Easton Ellis (This author writes thought-provoking books of Coming-of-age stories for adults in which College students and murder are the main topics.  Start with Lunar Park.)

I will mention again that the above title and author suggestions are from Novelist, so if you agree with these choices, you can thank them!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Rule of Four

  1. Jodi Colver says:

    Hi, you have a cool site. I’ll bookmark it and return in the future. Thanks..

  2. Hello, you have a great web site. I’ll favorite it and come back in the future. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s