The Messenger

HisLit

The MessengerAlright, all you espionage fans out there.  You know you like to have a little bit of action, suspense and psychological thrills every once in a while to boost your system.  If you are into spy novels, Daniel Silva’s series with his famous character Gabriel Allon, will satisfy those hungers.  The Messenger is actually the 6th book in the series, but trust me when I say that it is not confusing to start from the middle.  I was very much able to follow the story without getting lost.  At the time that I read it, I had never read a spy book before, so I opted to get a novel that had come out recently and I wasn’t aware that this specific title was part of a series.  It didn’t make a difference to me.  After recuperating from a face-off with a master terrorist, Allon gets a visit from the Pope’s private secretary, who is in need of his help.  The pacing is fast and there are twists, which keep you on your feet.  I am actually surprised that this series hasn’t hit the big screen yet.  Silva is very popular among male and female readers, so every book of his is usually a safe bet.  If you do want to start the series in order, read The Kill Artist first.  I am just suggesting the 6th installation because I read it and I really liked it.  Would I read the others?  Yes, probably.

HisLit title read-alikes:
In case you read The Messenger, there are other titles that can be likened to it.  Novelist suggests:
Without Mercy by Jack Higgins
The Good Guy by Dean Koontz
The Devil’s Light by Richard North Patterson

HisLit author read-alikes:
If you have read all of Silva’s novels but can’t get enough of spies, here are other authors that write like him, according to Novelist:
-Alan Furst (he writes evocative, atmospheric Spy Thrillers that share Silva’s elements like moods of bleak melancholy, complex plots, and solid research. However, Furst’s are set in Europe during the 1930s and ’40s, and Silva’s in the present, though an awareness of the past suffuses his novels.  Start with The World at Night.)
-John le Carré (Readers who appreciate Daniel Silva’s elegant style, ambiguous characters, and bleak atmospheres should try John le Carré. Since le Carré’s most popular Thrillers were written during the Cold War, they tell a different story, but the mood, the layered story and the questions raised are all similar.  Start with The Spy Who Came in From the Cold.)
-Robert Littell (he is long appreciated for his complex plots, sympathetic characters (good or bad), and details of the espionage game. While his books are less dense and dark than Silva’s, readers will find similar themes and characterizations.  Start with The Once and Future Spy.)

Hope you enjoy visiting the world of undercover agents and immersing yourself in these books, feeling like you are right in the middle of the action!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s