One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Book vs. Movie

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest   One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (movie)

It has been a while since I have read the book and seen the movie, but I retained some information regarding the differences between the two.  Obviously, this title is a classic and is usually studied in high school.  The characters in the story are definitely memorable, but their portrayal in the movie is just as unforgettable.  From what I remember, the film follows the book quite closely, but does leave some things out.  Since we are recovering from the Golden Globes award ceremony—which happened last night, I figured I would mention a novel that had won for “best movie” in its day.  Jack Nicholson is phenomenal as R.P. McMurphy and it is no wonder that he won the golden globe and an Oscar for it in 1975.  Likewise, Louise Fletcher was convincing as the famous nurse we just love to hate (in both paper and screen play).  In the novel, my favorite characters were Charlie Cheswick and the Native American “chief” Bromden, so I was pleased with the actors who performed these two roles so well.  This title is one that will hit you hard, whether you read it or see it.  Let me know if you agree.

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

  1. Dong Fieck says:

    What i don’t realize is actually how you are not really much more well-liked than you might be right now. You are very intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!

  2. Tutaj says:

    I will immediately grab your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  3. Yong says:

    Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I’d like to see more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

