Six Pixels of Separation

HisLit

Six Pixels of SeparationThis month I am suggesting a non fiction title for the men out there.  Mitch Joel presents the reality of technology and its ability to make anyone take off in a business or at least make your company/service available to everyone in the world: hence, the term “world-wide web”.  It is not as simple as it seems, however.  His recommendation is that you still have to work at it and be able to know what your audience is looking for, how you can fulfill their needs in a fast-paced, demanding society and (most importantly) keep them coming back.  Joel’s ideas are written in an easy way, which are to the point and even quite humorous.  He is an entertaining voice who really makes you believe that your aspirations can come to fruition if you know how to put yourself out there and show that you do actually care about the people you are trying to enthrall.  He gives tips and tricks on how to succeed at this and also warns us that we may have to change our old beliefs and strategies.  My favorite lines of important advice that come from his book are: “Connecting is not engaging” and “Burn the ships”.  His book is a smart piece of work and knowledge that everyone can use for whatever they are trying to accomplish in business or marketing.  If you have an idea about something great and want to get it out there, this book is definitely a must.  You’ll get the confidence to give yourself that exact boost you need to prove your worth—and if you fail while trying, that’s how you can improve on your mistakes and try again.  His message is that the internet can lead to your success, as long as you know how to use it the right way.  Mitch Joel is president of Twist Image, which is a marketing and communications agency.  You can follow him through his blog, where he writes constant updates on business, media, entrepreneurship and marketing.  Visit: www.twistimage.com/blog

HisLit title read-alikes:
These are other titles that may grab your attention while you are on the subject:
The Power of Foursquare: 7 Innovative Ways to Get Your Customers to Check in Wherever they Are by Carmine Gallo
The New Rules of Marketing & PR by David Meerman Scott
Likeable Social Media by Dave Kerpen

If you have already read Mitch Joel’s book, then reading the above titles will continue to help you with your goals, but if you only read one book about connecting your business to everyone, Six Pixels of Separation is the way to go.  I’ve actually found it quite helpful for myself, so it really is an accommodating source!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s