Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl

A Five Star Pick

Wesley the OwlEver since I read this book I have become an owl fanatic.  It was published in 2008 and I’m still raving about it 4 years later.  I even own the title at home.  Not only do I love owls in general, but my favorite one is the Barn Owl, of which this book focuses on.  I have become so devoted to this bird of prey that I am sponsoring one at the Ecomuseum of Montreal.  I also got to hold one on the summit of Mont-Tremblant this past Summer, which was so thrilling.  Lately, everywhere I look, I am surrounded by owl paraphanilia (owl motifs on clothes, stationary, purses, wallets, jewelery … it goes on!).  It is as if they have started a fad that doesn’t seem will end any time soon.  I have purchased almost anything that has to do with them.  Can you tell I’m obsessed?  On my part, Wesley is mostly to blame for this.  It is through this touching pet memoir that I learned how Barn Owls can possess unique and individual personalities, as if they were another cat or dog.  Wesley lived with his owner for 19 years before he passed away, but the memory of all the remarkable things he did in his home environment were so interesting!  After reading O’Brien’s work, I wanted an owl for myself, even though they should never be kept as pets.  Wesley’s situation called for intervention by his owner, whereby if he did not get the attention he needed, he would have perished long ago.  If you are looking for a real-life love story between an owl and his girl, you will find it in these pages—not to mention shedding a few tears.  If you want to know more about the Barn Owl in its natural wild habitat, check out Barn Owl by David Chandler.  It is an amazing source of information and perfect for fans like me.

This entry was posted in Five Star Picks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl

  1. Kim Lianes says:

    Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

Leave a Reply

