The Chairman

HisLit

The ChairmanI never thought I would be into financial thrillers, but this book succeeded in pulling me right in!  This novel has a mix of everything, it will steer you in many directions: suspense, psychological anxiety, back-stabbing and even sex.  Who ever said that investment banking was boring?  Christian Gillette becomes the head of Everest Capital, an investment firm, after the previous chairman has died.  He then becomes the target of a murderer who wants to see him go under while the stakes are high on Wall Street.  Suddenly, the death of the man he has replaced becomes suspicious and Gillette finds himself looking over his shoulder while a whirlwind of strange things happen around him.  Who wants to prevent him from taking the helm?  Can he find out who wants to take him down or will it be too late?  I thought I would not understand the lingo of financial terms and that I would get lost because I might not understand certain things about markets, but I had no problem following the plot.  What is good about these kinds of books is that it doesn’t take a genius to figure out when a character is being threatened or is in danger.  How they squirm their way out of trouble is the fun and exciting part.  It was an edge-of-your-seat, page turner and a fast read that took me by surprise at the end.  If you’ve always wanted to see how an investment banker’s day-to-day life is like, this story would probably be the opposite—then again, you never know!

HisLit title read-alikes:
Already read The Chairman and liked it?  May I suggest a few other books that you might enjoy just as much?  The following titles are all considered financial thrillers:
Money to Burn by JamesGrippando
Top Producer by Norb Vonnegut
Numbered Account by Christopher Reich

HisLit author read-alikes:
You may want to branch out and read other authors who write in a similar style to Stephen Frey.  The authors mentioned below can be considered good choices if you liked Stephen Frey’s work:
-Brad Meltzer (His thrillers make good reads for fans of Stephen Frey’s fast-paced financial Thrillers. Conspiracies and power-hungry corporate executives make worthy opponents for Meltzer’s honorable heroes, who are thrust into dangerous situations and must live by their wits.  Start with The Millionaires.)
-Vince Flynn (Readers who enjoy fast-paced and suspenseful stories about conspiracies may also enjoy books by him.  Start with Separation of Power.)
-Brad Thor (People who enjoy Frey’s fast-paced and suspenseful stories about conspiracies and secrets may also enjoy Thor.  Start with The Lions of Lucerne.)

If you are a person who loves finance and investments mixed with suspense and danger, financial thrillers can be very satisfying and just as exciting as any fast paced story.  I’ve certainly been convinced!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s