The Coffin Dancer

HisLit

The Coffin DancerA while back, I wrote about one of Lee Child’s novels that had a twisted criminal committing all the murders in the story.  In Deaver’s book, not only do we deal with a disturbed psychopath, but we are able to read what he is thinking as well.  It is not often that readers get to see what the killer is planning in a mystery.  Usually, a crime is committed and the protagonists must find out who among the suspects is the guilty one.  Here, the readers know ahead of time what will be happening, while waiting with bated breath to see if the police catch the perpetrator in time.  The story keeps us on the edge of our seats, as we follow quadriplegic NYPD criminalist Lincoln Rhyme and his partner in crime solving (Amelia Sacks) along a crazy path that the criminal sets them out on.  In this mystery thriller, the force already has some sort of idea what they are dealing with.  The police department is familiar with the suspect because he has resurfaced from a previous case that they could not solve the first time.  The serial killer is known to many in the force as the Coffin Reaper because of a distinct tattoo that marks him.  Unfortunately, they must endure a few setbacks before they can get any kind of lead.  There are twists and turns that bring us to an exciting conclusion.  I guarantee that you will not be disappointed with the outcome!

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you enjoyed this particular title, you may like these other books that have similar plot lines or themes.
Echo Park by Michael Connelly
The Vigilantes by W.E.B. Griffin and William E. Butterworth
Tick Tock by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

HisLit author read-alikes:
After you have exhausted all of Deaver’s books, you may want to move on to authors with similar tastes or writing styles:
-Thomas Harris (He creates frighteningly plausible criminals who manipulate both civilians and police with ease, primarily by understanding the mentalities that drive both. Harris, like Deaver combines strong characters—both good and evil—and fast-forward investigations with uncertain outcomes that keep readers in suspense.  Start with his popular novel The Silence of the Lambs.)
-John Sanford (Deaver’s readers will appreciate the myriad details and graphic violence of Sandford’s nerve-wracking, fast-paced Psychological Thrillers.  Start with Rules of Prey.)
-Thomas Perry (Thomas Perry is often compared to Jeffery Deaver for the depth of his characterization, the complexity of his plots and the sheer excitement of the chase.  Start with Sleeping Dogs.)

Enjoy these psychological mysteries and try not to become insane yourself during the thrilling ride!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s