Divine Justice

Movel of the Month

Divine JusticeTwo important political figures are murdered in the American government.  Oliver Stone is responsible for these deaths but he has run out of options to explain why he committed the crimes, so he is on the run instead.  Behind the murders are more murders and a conspiracy as long as the President’s arm, which CIA recruit Joe Knox must unravel.  There also seems to be a connection between Oliver Stone and a well respected army official (John Carr), who had apparently gone missing.  Members of the Camel Club get involved as they try to find and help Stone, while he keeps a low profile in a town called Divine (which has its own dirty secrets).  The plot and characters in the novel play out as if in a movie, so there are moments of drama, violence and disturbing scenes (that take place in a prison).  Also, there is dry humor among the characters, helping the reader to remember that this is just a story after all—but still believable anyways.  There is no telling how corrupt governments can be and this book just proves to show how things can easily be swiped under a rug, depending on who in the government is running the show.  Baldacci’s story has Stone running from justice when the real criminals are posted in high places, working for the government and making themselves look innocent.  In the end, wrongs are righted and the political scene resumes to a sense of normalcy—until the next tainted politician makes a move.

HisLit title read-alikes:
Here are some other titles that you may want to look at if you have already read this particular book by Baldacci.
Nothing to Lose by Lee Child
Covert Warriors by W.E.B. Griffin
The White House Connection by Jack Higgins

HisLit author read-alikes:
Although Baldacci is very popular, there are other authors who write in the same vein and are just as good.  The following names are meant to help you with finding another author who is like Baldacci, if you are up to date with all his books.
-Jeffrey Archer (Political skulduggery fills his fast-paced stories, known for their intricately twisted plots. Good versus evil, black-and-white characters, and engaging heroes will all remind readers of Baldacci’s popular novels.  Start with First Among Equals.)
-Stephen J. Cannell (Screenwriter Stephen Cannell’s Adventure/Suspense/Thrillers may be told in more slapdash prose than Baldacci’s, but there are often similar themes — conspiracy and corruption — and the pacing is every bit as page-turning.  Start with The Plan.)
-Kyle Mills (He crafts suspenseful conspiracy-based thrillers in which his characters (and readers along with them) are unsure whom to trust, and where it will all lead.  Start with Free Fall.)

Political thrillers are favorites for many fans because they deal with everything that can go wrong within governments, while the rest of the population goes about living and not knowing all the corruption happening behind closed doors.  The genre lends itself to a lot movies and TV shows which feed people’s curiosity about various political settings or situations around the world—many times making fiction seem too close to reality.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s