The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Book vs. Movie

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (book)     The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (movie)

I read the whole Millennium series and I have to confess that I was not such a huge fan as many others were.  As far as the first book was concerned, I had already figured out the ending and I wasn’t too impressed with how the antagonist meets his end.  I found many scenes in the novel to be very disturbing that I told myself I wouldn’t be interested in seeing the film, if one ever came out.  The foreign version was made, starring Noomi Rapace and Mikael Nyqvist and I decided against watching it.  When the American rendition came out, I still wasn’t quite convinced.  I spoke to our movie librarian at work and he mentioned that he saw both, suggesting that the remake was less graphic.  I borrowed it and saw how the story was transformed on screen.  The plot wavers a bit (especially near the end), but it made for an interesting DVD.  The opening credits  got me thinking this was a James Bond flick and with Daniel Craig playing Blomkvist, it didn’t seem that far from the mark.  The disturbing scenes still made me squirm but I was able to handle it.  I can’t say which movie is better because I didn’t see the first one, but compared to the book, the American version did a pretty good job.  I might even say that I enjoyed viewing Larsson’s work more than reading it.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

