A Civil Campaign

Movel of the Month

A Civil CampaignHold on … I know what you might be thinking—this has romance in it???  By no means did I select this because we are close to Valentine’s.  Let me enlighten you for one moment: it has an element of romance but it is so subtle that it definitely does not take away anything from the real issues of the book.  First and foremost, this is a Science Fiction novel (and very well written at that).  It has witty characters and funny moments that any guy would appreciate.  Did I also happen to mention it has space vehicles which travel from one planet to another?  The title is, in fact, part of a series that I think men would be quick to follow.  Miles Vorkosigan’s character goes back a long way in other stories (starting with Young Miles and then moving to books such as Mirror Dance) and they all deal with politics in space, as any good Star Wars or Star Trek adventure would.  Let’s just say if you are a fan of space wars, the Vorkosigan series is a good place to continue if you have read the other popular titles in this genre.  Besides, as we have seen in these kinds of movies and TV shows, sometimes love can be in the air—even in space.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If by chance you did read this book in the series and enjoyed it, here are other titles that may peak your interest.
Matter by Iain Banks
The Icarus Hunt by Timothy Zahn
Star Wars, episode III.  Revenge of the Sith by Matthew Woodring Stover

HisLit author read-alikes:
As with Bujold, there are authors who also write in a similar fashion, who can literally “take you to other worlds”:
-Terry Goodkind (He is a Fantasy expert with deftly constructed characters, and complexly interwoven storylines in massive series, combined to magical effect and featuring wizards, heroes and thrilling sword battles.  Start with Wizard’s First Rule.)
-David Drake (He has been cited for his compelling and witty series–either fantasy or science fiction–which set up speculative scenarios where there is real danger.  These are for fans of fantasy and/or science fiction who want a balance of character and action.  Start with In the Stormy Red Sky.)
-Robert A. Heinlein (He wrote primarily science fiction, but also some interesting fantasy.  He shares Bujold’s strong characterization, pacing and dialogue, interesting heroes, and thoroughly conceived worlds.  Start with The Moon is a Harsh Mistress.)

Suggestions are taken from Novelist, so if you are a library member, you can visit their site for more recommendations.  As a person who was a fan of Star Trek and Star Wars on the screen, it is cool to be able to read novels with the same type of feel.  If they are written well enough, I can picture them playing out as an episode.  May the force (and love) be with you, live long and prosper!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Civil Campaign

  1. Lois Bujold says:

    Thanks for the rec! But _Mirror Dance_ is very much a mid-series book; better folks should start with _Shards of Honor_ or its omnibus _Cordelia’s Honor_; or _The Warrior’s Apprentice_ or its omnibus _Young Miles_. More on the perpetual Bujold reading-order debate here: http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/293438-the-vorkosigan-saga-reading-order-debate-the-chef-recommends
    bests, Lois.

    • Melissa says:

      How wonderful to hear from you, Lois!!! 🙂 Yes, we do have “Young Miles”, so that would be a good one to start with, then. However, I have to say that I only picked up your book because of a training session we had on Science Fiction at the library. I picked up “Civil Campaign” because it looked cute and funny. I was quite impressed and not confused at all—even though it is part of a series of sorts. I liked it so much that I actually want to start from the beginning, so I think I will take your advice. Thanks again! So flattered 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s