The Lorax

Book vs. Movie

The Lorax (book)    The Lorax (movie)

I never really knew what this story was about.  I never read it, even though I like Dr. Seuss.  When a colleague at work told me to see the movie because it was very good, I decided to take her word for it and borrowed it from the library.  Wow.  I was blown away.  I even cried.  It is meaningful because of the environmental content, so the topic is relevant more than ever today.  After I watched the film I looked at the book and though the main message is clearly indicated, I still think the movie brought more personality to the moral of the story.  I liked the fact that in the on-screen version, we get to see the background of the boy who visits the Once-ler and how his city is basically dying—just as the Once-ler destroyed the environment around himself long ago.  There is more of an attachment to the characters in the movie because you see them interacting with and reacting to the things affecting them.  It also shows how sometimes, unfortunately, history seems to repeat itself with negative consequences.  The hope we are left with at the end of both versions, however, makes us emotional and keeps us optimistic!  It is a fabulous rendition of a children’s classic.  Wouldn’t you agree?

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

