Red on Red

Movel of the Month

Red on RedI could see this novel as a TV show or miniseries.  The main police detectives are humorous and the cases they work on never seem boring—plus, it takes place in New York!  Can it get any more real?  Meehan (an Irish cop) and his Italian partner, Esposito have had their fair share of investigating homicides and suicides but Meehan has also got to stay focused on what others in the department are saying about Esposito.  While dealing with gang issues, a suicide, a reported missing girl and getting his love life in motion, Meehan needs to watch his back when it comes to the friend he has been working with.  It will take more than rumors, however, to convince him that Esposito is playing dirty.  Either the gossip is true or someone wants to ruin Esposito’s career.  In any case, Meehan is determined to do what it takes to defend his partner and catch criminals at the same time.  This is a fast-paced story, even though it is about 400 pages long.  Despite the ugly reality of the situations they are hit with, it is fun to see the ways in which the two detectives approach them, making the book a good candidate for light reading.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you read this book and would like something similar, here are some options.
The Drop by Micahel Connelly
The Cold Moon by Jeffery Deaver
The Traffickers by W.E.B. Griffin

HisLit author read-alikes:
If you like Conlon’s style and story lines, you may want to try reading the following authors.
-George Pelecanos (Readers who enjoy the gritty, bleak tone and fast-paced, authentic, yet literary writing of Edward Conlon’s novels may want to try George Pelecanos.  Start with The Big Blowdown.)
-Dennis Lehane (With multi-faceted characters, a strong sense of place, a bleak tone, and fast-paced yet literate writing, fans of Edward Conlon might want to try the novels of Dennis Lehane.  Start with Mystic River.)
-Joseph Wambaugh (He and Conlon were once police officers—Wambaugh in Los Angeles and Conlon in New York.  Their full knowledge of police work is apparent in their novels. Both have also written nonfiction.  Start with The Choirboys.)

I like police investigators—especially when there is a team of two, bouncing ideas off of each other and slipping in an odd joke here or there.  It isn’t any different than what you would find on a cop show and I think that’s what made it enjoyable for me.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s