The Hypnotist

Movel of the Month

The HypnotistThis novel gave me chills.  There are twists that I would never have guessed, which makes it a thrilling read.  It is also the second time that I read about hypnosis being a key factor dealing with a crime.  The first book I read that involved hypnosis was Lee Child’s Running Blind, which was also interesting and I had featured it as a movel of the month, last year in Spring.  In The Hypnotist, police detective Joona Linna has heard about the mass murder of a family, where a surviving member of the massacre is battling for his life in the hospital.  It is believed that an older daughter had been spared the crime and inspector Linna would like to know if the recovering boy would remember the killer’s face or have pertinent information about who committed the murders, in order to save the boy’s older sister.  When it is clear that hypnosis is the only answer, Erik Maria Bark is called to join the investigation.  He is the best hypnotist in his field who can find answers before it is too late.  When the victim is hypnotized for the first time, the unexpected is revealed.  Get ready for a shocking ride and find out how some things are never what they seem.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you enjoyed Kepler’s story, the following titles are ones you may be interested in reading.
Box 21 by Anders Roslund
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson
The Motive by John T. Lescroart

HisLit author read-alikes:
If  you like Kepler and want to read similar authors, I would like to suggest the writers below:
-Michael Connelly (His cunningly plotted mysteries blend realistic police procedurals with the forlorn heroism of classic hardboiled fiction.  Protagonist Hieronymus “Harry” Bosch — named for a Renaissance painter of hellish scenes — is burdened by his own painful origins.  Connelly portrays Bosch as a maverick hero whose vision of justice means that “everybody counts or nobody counts.”  Thriller and suspense fans will find that Connelly’s plots hit the ground running: full of shocking twists, climactic build-up, and often violent confrontations, Connelly ultimately allows characters to carve meaning out of darkness — if they live.  Start with: The Black Echo.)
-John Sanford (He stands out for his consistent delivery of riveting characters and intense, richly-layered plots in his Prey series, Kidd series, and his stand-alone novels. Crime drives his stories, whether his heroes are the ones solving or the ones committing the crime.  Intricate details and graphic violence lend a gritty realism to the tone of these books, while maintaining a fast, suspenseful pace.  Quirky characters and witty dialogue relieve the tension.  Sandford’s good guys and bad guys alike are intriguing, complex, and realistically flawed.  Start with: Rules of Prey.)
-Robert Crais (He writes Hardboiled Mystery in his Elvis Cole series.  He develops engaging plots and well-developed characters with a clean, terse style.  Whimsical personal eccentricities refresh the stereotype of his world-weary gumshoe, Elvis.  Protagonists remain cautiously optimistic about human nature at large, even when disappointed.  Liberal humor and a little romance set an upbeat tone.  Start with: Voodoo River.)

Next to Stieg Larsson, Kepler is another popular Scandinavian author(s) who has a growing fan base.  Yes, you heard right—Lars Kepler is a pen name for a husband and wife team who write together.  Personally, I think they do a great job with writing and making everyone think Lars Kepler is one novelist.  The Hypnotist was made into a film in Sweden, which was released in 2012.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s