The Secret Life of Bees

Book vs. Movie

The Secret Life of Bees    The Secret Life of Bees (movie)

Before Kathryn Stockett’s The Help, there was The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd.  What a great story to get immersed in during the Summertime!  If you wanted to know which you should do first, my advice is to read the book.  You get more out of it and even though the movie is uplifting like the novel—there are many details that are very different between the two.  I will point them out now: the way Zach finds out about Lily’s past; the scene where Zach is brought to jail; how May finds out about Zach in prison; how T. Ray finds Lily at the Boatwrights; how June accepts Neil’s marriage proposal; how Rosaleen is renamed July; the last question that Lily wants to find out from T. Ray.  In the book, Lily asks him if she was the one who really shot her mother, whereas in the film, her question is: “Did she come back for me?”  Some scenes that I was looking forward to watching were not even included (the one I especially wanted to see was the whole Mary Day celebration).  It was also interesting to note how T. Ray’s character is much more sympathetic in the motion picture than in the novel.  This is easy, considering who takes on the role (Paul Bettany) and the fact that you actually see how he adores Deborah in one scene.  One thing I was kinda surprised by was the age of Rosaleen and August.  It threw me off.  In reality, Rosaleen is supposed to be in her 50’s or 60’s.  Jennifer Hudson was too young for the role but very good, nevertheless.  August was also supposed to be older than Queen Latifah is.  What I must mention is that I truly admired each actor’s performance.  My favorite was Sophie Okonedo, who played May.  She did such a tremendous job portraying a troubled, but caring woman.  I have so much to say about this book/movie comparison because there are so many things to point out.  They are both wonderful but I definitely prefer the novel to the film.  There.  I said it.  What do you think? 

This entry was posted in Book vs. Movie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

