Night Vision

Movel of the Month

Night VisionIf you have read The Millennium trilogy by Steig Larsson, you may liken a character from that book to a specific body-building, steroid junkie in this novel.  His name is Harris Squires and he is in trouble with the law—that is, if he gets found out.  He is part owner of a trailer park in Florida, where a lot of illegal Mexicans are staying.  He also concocts various addictive drugs and sells them to anyone he can, for a profit.  He is surrounded by two women whom he seems to hate with a passion:  his older girlfriend and his controlling mother.  Things start getting out of hand and become more dangerous than it initially seemed, when he “accidentally ” drugs a woman to death and feeds her to the alligator in the park’s pond.  The only witness who could potentially give him away is 14 year old Tula, who is very religious and considered a child prodigy by the residents in the park.  Squires needs to kidnap her and shut her up before she blows his cover.  When Tula is reported missing, marine biologist, Doc Ford and his sidekick, Tomlinson arrive on the scene trying to save the day before time runs out for the girl.  Their adventure will take them farther than they ever could have imagined.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you liked this particular book, here are other titles you may find to be just as good.
The Husband by Dean Koontz
A Rock and a Hard Place by Darryl Wimberley
Under Cover of Daylight by James W. Hall

HisLit author read-alikes:
If you like White’s style and themes, you may enjoy the following authors:
-Carl Hiaasen (He shares Randy Wayne White’s concern for the environment, ironic worldview, and taste for bizarre characters and situations.  Hiaasen’s satiric thrillers combine these factors with truly madcap antics, caustic wit, and vivid descriptions of Florida’s dangers–of the human and natural kind alike.  Start with Tourist Season.)
-John D. MacDonald (Just as White, he writes fast paced, adventure style mysteries that feature reluctant warrior-style sleuths who would just rather relax in their Florida seaside homes.  They have a strong sense of honor and aren’t afraid of a fight.  The books have quirky characters, lots of violence, and a strong sense of place.  Start with Pale Gray for Guilt.)
-Brian Freeman (He writes suspenseful and intricately plotted stories that take place in interesting settings of the States, with a series character named Jonathan Stride—similar to Doc Ford.  Start with Immoral.)

With witty characters and suspenseful adventures such as these, you can never get bored.  Hold onto your seat and enjoy the thrill of the ride!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s