The Guardians

Movel of the Month

The GuardiansA group of teenage boys growing up in small town Grimshaw, get in over their heads when one of them witnesses their hockey coach drag their music teacher to the abandoned house just across the street and they discover her dead body there.  Only days before, a report goes out that the young lady is missing and no one knows of her whereabouts.  With the horrifying secret in their sole possession, they have no way of confiding to police about what they found, without causing trouble for themselves.  Their lives, as they know it, have now changed forever and the tragedy ends up traumatizing them in their 40’s, when they must reunite for the funeral of the witness, who committed suicide.  The house still remains, more foreboding than ever, as dreadful memories haunt Trevor and Randy (two of the friends) about what happened in the past.  Now, another young lady in the community goes unexpectedly missing and they fear their worst nightmares have been realized.  Will her body be found in the Thurman house?  This is an eerie and chilling book, which will keep you awake at night.  It also shows how a close-knit circle of friends are capable of looking out for each other and being loyal to their friendship—no matter what.

HisLit title read-alikes:
Enjoyed this book as much as I did?  You might want to read others like it.  The following titles are ones you may like to try.
The Madman’s Tale by John Katzenbach
Scavenger by David Morrell
Floating Staircase by Ronald Malfi

HisLit author read-alikes:
If you are a fan of Andrew Pyper’s work, there are other authors who write in a similar fashion.  You can consult these writers when you are done with Pyper’s books.
-Michael Marshall (Although Marshall’s books are considered mystery, they also are psychological thrillers that can have chilling side effects, just like Pyper’s stories.  Start with The Intruders.)
-John T. Lescroart (His books are more legal fiction but have the same suspenseful tone and often gruesome/horrific cases, which are compelling to read.  Start with Dead Irish.)
-Michael Robotham (His books are psychological thrillers, which feature a psychologist who gets involved in creepy situations.  His tone is similar to Pyper’s.  Start with Suspect.)

Psychological thrillers are always tempting to read but they can make your brain work overtime and definitely leave you with a sense of unease, especially when the story has supernatural elements.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Guardians

  1. jen morehouse says:

    Lovely commentary – and thanks muchly for the training today, Melissa!!!! I think it,s time to start reading fiction again…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s