Conviction (Star Wars: Fate of the Jedi, book 7)

Movel of the Month

ConvictionAnyone who likes Star Wars will enjoy the adventure and humor in this book.  Yes, it is the 7th book in this particular series and I probably would have been better off starting from the beginning but I wasn’t lost because I know about the basics of Star Wars from all the movies (prequels and all).  I am also familiar with many of the main characters and different planets or creatures because of that knowledge.  That being said, it was interesting to read about the offspring of princess Leia and Hans Solo, or Luke’s son.  At this stage of the series, I guess it is to be expected but I enjoyed being exposed to these and other new people—as they were created outside of what I saw in the movies.  In the book, Luke and his son are on a mission to solve the precarious situation of the Jedi order, while investigating the mysterious ties between dangerously powerful Abeloth and the Sith.  As with most space operas, there is action and drama but mixed evenly with the right touch of satire.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you enjoyed this novel, chances are you will want to read the following books (if you haven’t already):
Ender in Exile by Orson Scott Card
The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
Consider Phlebas by Iain Banks

HisLit author read-alikes:
The authors mentioned below write in a similar fashion, with the same tone or theme as Allston.
-Timothy Zahn (He writes compelling, action-packed science fiction set within the Star Wars Expanded Universe.  Both have earned the respect of ardent fans for their faithful handling of material from the original trilogy as well as for their ability to craft memorable, larger-than-life new characters that enrich the series mythology.  Start with Heir to the Empire.)
-Frank Herbert (He is known as a master of modern day science fiction.  He wrote countless novels, but is best known for his Dune series novels, considered modern masterpieces.  The first novel has never been out of print.  His work is typical of much science fiction, with emphasis on heroics in strange and unknown surroundings, but Herbert distinguishes himself as a writer by creating rich, textured societies, complete with detailed history, politics, and ecology.  Herbert’s success, in many ways, paved the way for science fiction writers to come, as his works introduced the genre to more mainstream readers.  Start with Dune.)
-Vernor Vinge (He writes imaginative, thoughtful, and fast-paced science fiction that explores how developments in modern technology may affect futuristic societies.  Vinge excels at dynamic, vivid, and technically detailed world building, and his stories depict the mind-bending personal, social, and philosophical implications of artificial intelligence, intergalactic communication networks, and radical discoveries in physics.  These intricately plotted and suspenseful tales contain gripping, perceptive, and surprisingly plausible descriptions of small- and large-scale changes in human life and thought as a result of scientific and technological progress.  Start with: A Fire Upon the Deep.)

If you are no alien to Star Wars then you will get enough satisfaction reading this book and the whole series.  If you are new to it, you will still be entertained and will probably want to become a fan.  Either way: May the force be with you.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s