Forty Acres

Movel of the Month

Forty AcresI always had a fascination with stories where the tables are turned.  In this instance, it has to do with slavery but with black people as the masters in command.  The idea is brilliant, yet still disturbing.  I was never one to agree with slavery in the first place.  I never could imagine that people could be so inhumane to others—but it did happen and disrespect still happens even in this day and age.  Martin Grey, a young black lawyer, just beginning to establish his firm with a long time friend, is invited to the party of one of the wealthiest lawyers of African American descent and he joins a secret society which is more than what it appears to be.  The group is made up of powerful black men who are considered billionaires and follow the advice of a “doctor of philosophy” (Dr. Kasim), whom they revere and regard as the law.  When Martin goes on a weekend trip with this circle of men, he discovers that they are supporting slavery of white men and women—to get revenge on what their ancestors suffered through.  Although the motive for the idea is understandable, even Martin knows it is not right.  With no communication to the outside world, not knowing his location and how exactly he will escape, he must convince the group that he has accepted their beliefs and pretend to go along with their initiations—otherwise he risks losing his life and everything he loves.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you found this book as interesting and thrilling as I did, here are other novels that may produce the same results:
The Jefferson Key by Steve Berry
Angels Flight by Michael Connelly
The Faculty Club by Danny Tobey

HisLit author read-alikes:
Smith’s idea and themes are engrossing, written in a manner that flows and keeps you intrigued till the end.  If you like his style, here are other authors that can be comparable:
-John Hart (He updates the Southern Gothic tradition in his erudite suspense novels, adding a tender heart to an often dramatic formula and grounding it in the present day and its challenges.  His Edgar Award-winning, character-driven novels focus on sympathetic protagonists attempting to make the best of bad decisions and bad luck.  Start with: The King of Lies.)
-Kwei J. Quartey (He writes mystery stories that are character-driven, leisurely paced and have a strong sense of place.  He has made The Bestseller List of the Los Angeles Times in 2009 and was awarded the title of Best Male Author by the G.O.G. National Book Club, a year later.  Start with: Wife of the Gods.)
-Walter Mosley (He adds a twist to the hardboiled mystery by exploring racial and economic problems in his cinematic and compelling stories.  He makes L.A. come alive, particularly the poorer and rougher parts of town.  His characters are fully-developed with strengths and flaws and are often challenged by the difficult aspects of life.  Start with: Devil in a Blue Dress.)

Racial issues are always a topic that can make plots controversial but also eye-opening.  Throw in some conspiracies and psychological stress and you have got a thriller that you just can’t put down.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s