Rust: The Longest War

Mook of the Month

RustIf you think this is a boring book that drags on with dry writing, think again.  It certainly is more entertaining than watching rust eat away at your car.  What is great about the book is that the topic is practically relevant to everyone and affects all of us.  The history of corrosion is actually quite fascinating and when it is written in an engaging way, with some humor added, it really works!  Rust has apparently been the culprit for many deaths and has accounted for billions of dollars spent on repairs or replacements for things that were damaged by it.  When you look at it in that sense, I’d say we should be more invested in how we are affected by this scientific phenomena and if anything can be done about it.  Waldman takes a look at different problems—including all the trouble involved in restoring the Statue of Liberty—the politics and arguments that arose from delicate issues, which (still to this day) continue to corrode with ferocity.  We’d all be a little smarter if we read about the oldest enemy in our midst; one that is even given worthy mention in the Bible.

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you liked reading this book, you may enjoy the following titles just as much:
Gold: The Race for the World’s Most Seductive Metal by Matthew Hart
Money: The Unauthorized Biography by Felix Martin
Seven Elements that Have Changed the World by John Browne

HisLit author read-alikes:
If you like the way Waldman writes, you will probably want to read these authors too, as they are just as engaging and interesting with their styles:
-Oliver Sacks (Start with Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain)

-Mitch Joel (Start with: Six Pixels of Separation: Everyone is Connected: Connect Your Business to Everyone)

-Tom Vanderbilt (Start with: Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What it Says About Us))

Finally, if you are into the history of certain things like alcohol or the hamburger, there are books about those too.  The books are written in a way to keep you turning the pages—besides, who would think any of those topics are dreary?

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s