An Astronaut’s Guide to Life On Earth

Mook of the Month

Astronaut's GuideFirst off, I would like to express that this is not only a book for male readers.  If you are into space and have ever wanted to know what life on a space shuttle is like, this is a wonderful and interesting read.  Especially if you wanted to find out about Canadian astronaut, Chris Hadfield’s experience.  I went to hear him speak at a library conference in Toronto last year and the  personality that revealed itself that day was also found in his book.  He not only tells us what he went through but gives the reader advice on how to approach situations in life, based on things he learned from aspiring to and then becoming his dream.  He is often humorous and honest, while he invites us to accompany his memories of being selected as a commander of the International Space Station.  At one point, I actually felt like I was launching for take-off in that rocket and then living life on a ship that hovers over the earth.  He includes some photos of his past and of course, we will never forget how he started the whole social media craze in space (something he gives his son credit for) by going viral and performing “Space Oddity” with his guitar, while floating around.  It is a quick but enjoyable memoir and some space facts are quite fascinating.  You’d be just a little more wiser after reading this one!

HisLit title read-alikes:
If you liked going along on Hadfield’s ride, you may want to try these books:
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void by Mary Roach
Falling to Earth: an Apollo 15 Astronaut’s Journey by Al Worden
You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes: Photos From the International Space Station by Chris Hadfield 

What lies beyond our planet is certainly breathtaking but the research that goes into space science is also important if we are to grasp how the bigger picture works.  Books like these certainly help us to understand it more.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in HisLit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s